Sizzix eClips with ECAL & Die Cutting Machine Comparison

Ahh! I’m freaking out! Did I REALLY just buy that!? YES I did! I have a mix of emotions going through my head right now. Excited- Scared- Thrilled-Anxious.

This is absolutely the most I have ever spent on a single craft item. I used to think the people who were paying for Cricut machines had to be out of their minds (no offense, I didn’t have the craft addiction I do now back then). Now here I am paying for a Sizzix eClips Machine and ECAL!

Here is the run down on my logic for purchasing this electronic die cutting master:

#1 reason(s): I really am hoping this is going to replace my other machines and give me endless paper cutting possibilities.

Other very important supporting factors:
• Cuts through multiple different types of materials including lightweight Chipboard (yay!) 
• Replacement parts cost seems pretty low
• Doesn’t seem to have any bugs (WTG Sizzix on waiting to release until bugs were worked out!)
• With the use of ECAL I will save a ton of money not having to buy separate cartridges.
• Built in Laser allows you to line up paper perfectly to avoid waste.

My current die cutting machines and thoughts on them:

• Slice Hands-Free
My Slice machine and I have a Love-Hate relationship every time I use it. I love it when it works, but other times it randomly decides to spaz out and either not turn on, won’t move or go back to “home” position, shred up my paper, or drags the blade all over the paper ruining the cuts. It can work like a dream and be a mischief within the same session of use. I just don’t get it. I have tried so many different things to fix it, but when it comes down to it, it just works when it wants and doesn’t other times. I think the embossing and debossing feature on it is a joke too. It’s a nice little machine for small projects under a meager 4 inches. I bought quite a few cartridges for my Slice machine. I do think they were fairly priced, but I bought almost all of my cartridges on sale. I know they have come out with a new “Slice Elite” that fixed a couple of the issues (you don’t have to change the pressure, can cut thicker materials, it’s faster, etc), but I’m not that confident in the Slice to give the Elite a try.

• Sizzix Big Shot
I still totally love my Big Shot! It’s great. You can use so many different manufacturers dies and I think that is a great feature. The biggest problem that I have had lately is that I can not put any dies wider than about 5.5-6″ through it. I considered getting a Big Shot Pro, but the reviews on it were bad to say the least. Not being able to make chipboard albums, cut full-sized cards or envelopes, or any of the other larger items needed for mixed-media projects is what left me yearning for something more.

Well, I’m sure a lot of you would agree with my reasons for getting the eClips machine. I really hope it is as awesome as I am thinking it will be! It should be here in 1-5 days. I think I am going to make my un-boxing of the eClips Machine be my youtube debut haha. I bought a tri-pod and everything, but haven’t posted a video yet. So excited!

If you have an eClips and have any awesome tips for me, please share in the comments! Is there something you hate about your current die cutting machine? Let it all out in the comments! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

