Lace Washi

Washi Tape Purchasing Secret- Do the Math!

I have to admit that I have fallen prey to the Washi Tape sensation. I don’t normally like following trends, but this stuff is so awesome.  It actually allows tape to be pretty!

I have bought Washi Tape from a couple different sources lately and I want to share with you my findings. If you have not used washi tape before, it is decorative tape that is a paper type of tape which rips off the roll easily. It is not very sticky and can be repositioned easily. Washi Tape originated in Japan and has become a craze in the United States recently. I want to say (but may be wrong) that “smash books” might have had something to do with it. Smash books are supposed to be a way that someone can scrapbook without worrying about everything looking perfect or artsy. You are essentially supposed to “smash” your memories in to the pages nonchalantly. I have yet to do a smash book, but it is one of those things that I am oddly drawn to.

The secret to making sure you are getting a good deal when purchasing Washi Tape is very simple, do the math. I wish I had taken my own advice in the first place. Sometimes I get so excited and want to buy something that I don’t listen to the other part of my brain which is the reasonable half. You will see what I mean below.

Here is a little chart of the Washi Tapes that I have purchased:

Type Where to Buy Price Yards Feet Price/ Yard
Lace Washi WishyWashiTape

$3.45

16

  49′ 2.55″

$0.22

Drew’s Washi w/o disc DiscountCharms

$3.49

11

  32′ 9.7″

$0.32

Drew’s Washi W/ disc DiscountCharms

$3.14

11

  32′ 9.7″

$0.29

Cavallini & Co. Amazon

$14.10

80

  240′

$0.18

American Crafts Dear Lizzy Amazon

$8.20

18

  54′

$0.46

K & Co Smash Amazon

$3.39

21

  65′

$0.16

*Discount Charms and WishyWashiTape are both Etsy shops

Starting from the top here are my thoughts:

1. The Lace Washi that I purchased from WishyWashiTape was a good deal. They have a good selection on their Etsy Shop too. However, their prices vary per roll, so you would need to do the math on each to make sure you’re getting a good deal on all of them.

2 & 3. Drew’s Washi Tape. I found Drew through his youtube channel “cardofmyeye”. He recently put out a video showing that his Etsy shop, Discount Charms, would be carrying Washi Tape now. When I saw one with clocks and another with newspaper ads, I immediately bought them without even thinking about pricing. He has a discount code right now, 10percentoff25, which gives you 10% off purchases over $25. That is why I show pricing both ways on the chart. He has a good selection and consistent pricing so you don’t need to worry about doing the math on each roll. He also has cheap shipping !

4. Cavallini & Co Washi Tape is beautiful. The set that I got is called “Flora & Fauna”. It included 5 rolls with 16 yards per roll. This tape is a great deal. You have to spend more money upfront though and you have to buy in packs which are all the same theme. They come in a very nice tin too.

5. American Crafts Dear Lizzy Enchanted. I jumped on these right away because I loved the designs that came in this 3 roll pack. Unfortunately, I got ripped off. At $0.46 per foot this tape is not a deal at all. You get 18 yards TOTAL, not per roll. I will be using these sparingly since I don’t plan on buying them again.

6. K & Co. Smash Tape Black & White Polka Dots. This “Washi” tape is actually called Smash Tape, but it shares the same properties as the other Washi Tapes I have. This is the best deal but they only offer this one design. I wish they would make more because this is a great price!

Hopefully I have helped you understand the world of Washi a little better. If you have any questions, please let me know!

3 comments on “Washi Tape Purchasing Secret- Do the Math!

  1. Washi tape has not hit South Africa quite like the US. Interesting breakdown you have done here.

    Thanks for your comment on my sewing room tag by Tim. I can get a melting pot locally, but have not felt the need for it yet. I have nearly everything else the man has ever thought of…nearly…LOL I am an addict!

    • I just started crafting back in November and seeing Tim’s stuff in my local craft store is what gave me the kick to do it and now I’m hooked on paper crafts and especially his items and style ! Thanks for visiting my blog too :)

  2. Another thing you should consider is where it’s made. Japan made tape is significantly higher quality than the China tape and most stores are trying to sell the China tape at the same price as the Japan tape. Not cool.

Leave a Reply

