Shooting Star Window Birthday Card

I really wanted to be thrilled with this card, I swear! However, I feel that when I dreamt up this design, I was dreaming of  it as a shabby chic room with soft tones and subtle signs of wear. Since I was supposed to be designing a card for a man, I decided that I would keep the design, but change the colors to make it masculine. I mean, that’s not a terrible idea, right? That’s what I thought, but now I am thinking that I thought wrong. Besides the color scheme, there are a few other things on this card that just feel, well, off. Some of that rips in the “wallpaper” are a little to perfect which makes it look fake. I am now thinking that one large rip or two medium size rips may have made a more dramatic look and given the effect that I was going for a lot better. I am a little bothered that my handwriting on “make a wish” isn’t that pretty and because I hand wrote it, it is off center. I think with a few tweaks, this card design could look amazing!

If you want to know how I did anything, just ask! I am even willing to do a pictorial tutorial or a video tutorial. The window was made using ECAL software and cut with an EClips machine. I am starting to like that machine more and more since I moved the desktop into my craft room 🙂 . Thanks for checking out my card and stopping by!

Leave a Reply

