Happy Birthday Card using Luster Mica Spray Mists

20140717_211428

Happy Birthday Card

Happy Birthday Card

Inside of Card

Inside of Card

Hi everyone! I just made this card last night for my Mom’s Birthday. Like most times, I sat down only with an idea of which products I wanted to use and a slight idea of what I wanted to do. I had no idea the card would come out looking like this, but I am pretty happy with it!

I started by spraying the background with Hawaiian Shores Luster Spray Mist to give it a nice creamy color. Then I used my Tim Holtz Dot Fade Layering Stencil with Hawaiian Orchid. Then I centrally sprayed Deep Sea Dive and used my heat tool to move it around a little bit . After that dried, I sprayed Shallow Waters using the same technique. Next, I grabbed my Stars Stencil ($1.99 in Mylar, $0.75 in Oil Board) and added Dusty Concord Distress Ink using a blending sponge. The cupcake stamp is from Tim Holtz Mini Blueprints and I’ve been dying to use it! I decided to keep that simple since there’s so much going on in the background and a ton of shimmer! The “happy birthday!” stamp is from one of The Paper Studio’s phrases sets that I got from Hobby Lobby. I like that they’re photopolymer and individual words. I did mess up the spacing  just a little bit though. Lastly, I added a few gemstones. These were in a $1.00 pack from Joann’s. I kept the inside of the card super simple and just sprayed a few spritzes of Hawaiian Orchid, Deep Sea Dive, and Shallow Waters. I still need to write a message on the inside.

I hope you enjoyed seeing my card. I love it when I “have” to make a card because sometimes I find myself avoiding my craft room and feeling uninspired. It seems like the moment I make myself go in there I realize all the awesome things that I have to play with and I get in the mood to create !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

