Floral Birthday Card for Older Sister

Another month has passed and another family member’s birthday has passed as well. I don’t know about you guys, but it seems like there is a birthday every month between my family and friends. There’s some months that I end up celebrating 2-3 birthdays!  For me, April and May are the only months that I don’t have to make cards for, but of course I could make Easter and Memorial Day cards if I wanted to. I love that it means I absolutely MUST craft to make a card . Sometimes it’s a little hard to fit it in, but I try to make an effort to make them feel special on their day.

This is the card that I made for my older sister. I used a laser cut wood piece that I had laying around and tried out my new mica powder colors on her card too! I plan on releasing these very soon, but I wanted to test/play with them a little first. The dies that I used were Spellbinders and I got the pack for $10.00 at the rubber stamp event we went to. The flower stamps were in a $0.79 pack that I got from my LSS. Can you believe I found a red rubber cling stamp set for only $0.79!? That was a major score! I used a Cuttlebug embossing folder and peacock feathers distress ink for the background. The paper was an old Prima pad that I have and I can’t remember what it was called, but I want to say Sunflower since that’s pretty much what the entire paper pad was comprised of. Here’s the card:

20141116_103245 20141116_103317

 

She really liked it and says she wants to keep it! Of course, that is pretty much the best complement, since us card makers can’t even fathom the thought of a recipient throwing away our crafty gift that took us hours to make and we even were nice enough to use our special secret-stash-hoard items on. Yeah, you know what I mean! I hope you like the card as much as she did. Thank you for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

