Mother’s Day Card – Mother’s Help Us Grow

20150507_232952

20150507_233037

I made this Mother’s Day Card almost exactly how I did in my last post except I used a different technique and medium for the stenciling of the Floral Frame stencil.  This one came out so much more vibrant because of this technique.

Here they are side by side:

Using Liquitex Super Heavy Gloss Gel mixed with Distress Inks

Using Liquitex Super Heavy Gloss Gel mixed with Mowed Lawn, Picked Raspberry and Worn Lipstick Distress Inks

Using Prima Light Paste and then brushing Distress Inks over it after dried.

Using Prima Light Paste and then brushing Distress Inks over it after dried.

You can see that by mixing the Distress Inks directly into a clear glossy medium, you will end up with vibrant results. Brushing the distress ink over the opaque Light Paste gave it more of a pastel effect. The card on the left did take significantly longer though. I had to mix each color individually and then carefully apply it through my stencil using a palette knife and masking off areas that I didn’t want a certain color in. For the card on the right, I just applied the Light Paste through the stencil , let it dry, and then brushed the Distress inks over top after placing the stencil back on to protect the surface underneath and keep the color just on the stenciled areas. I used the same Distress Ink colors except the green. I believe I used Peeled Paint for the card on the right.

For a list of supplies, please refer to my last post.  Here’s the YouTube video of me making this card:

Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

